Ari Pregen – Marijuana-related misdemeanor charges and consequences in Florida
Under Florida state and federal laws, possession of marijuana is a criminal offense. Possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor under Florida law is punishable by a maximum period of one year behind bars, if convicted. The maximum monetary fine for possession of 20 grams of marijuana or less in Florida is $1,000.
Any person who sells marijuana in Florida also commits a crime. The sale of 20 grams of marijuana without remuneration is again a misdemeanor and has the same punitive results as possession of 20 grams or less. Possession of drug paraphernalia is also a misdemeanor with a maximum fine of $1,000 and a maximum imprisonment of one year, if convicted.
The term “paraphernalia” refers to the equipment and materials used for planting, harvesting and cultivating marijuana. Kits used for production of a controlled substance are identified as paraphernalia, as well as the balances and scales used for weighing controlled substances. Possessing this kind of equipment is a serious misdemeanor in Florida. Other examples of paraphernalia are hypodermic syringes or needles. If a person is convicted of a misdemeanor charge in Florida, then his or her driver’s license will be …read more